FP1: Leclerc puts Ferrari on top at Sochi

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Russia, Sochi International Street Circuitru

Charles Leclerc and Ferrari continue their strong showings by topping the first free practice session at Sochi, Russia. Max Verstappen ended up second fastest for Red Bull as Singapore Grand Prix winner Sebastian Vettel completed the top three.

Leclerc, who vows to put more trust in the team's decisions after a dispute on the team radio, set the fastest time, less than a tenth quicker than Verstappen, but more than half a second up on his team mate Vettel. All three set their best times on the softest Pirelli tyre available this weekend.

Mercedes duo Bottas and Hamilton ended up in 4th and 5th as they chose for longer runs on the medium compound tyres. Bottas's session did however end prematurely, shorly before the scheduled end, as his Mercedes W10 suffered an unusual rear wing failure.

Albon ended FP1 in 6th, ahead of both Renaults who aim to lead the midfield. Hulkenberg was fastest, as he had been in Singapore. Daniel Ricciado ended 6 tenths down, but failed to do a quick lap late in the session as he rear his car into the barriers at Turn 5. Damage appeared relatively minor, so he was able to drive his car back to the pits without much further ado.

Sergio Perez and Romain Grosjean were 9th and 10th respectively, unusually keeping McLaren out of the top 10. The orange cars did however not focus on quick laps, with Sainz completing a long stint on mediums, and Norris focusing on the hard tyre.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:34.462-20
233Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:34.544+0.082s25
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:35.005+0.543s20
477Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:35.198+0.736s28
544Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:35.411+0.949s22
623Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:35.484+1.022s22
727Nico HulkenbergRenault1:35.740+1.278s21
83Daniel RicciardoRenault1:36.287+1.825s20
911Sergio PerezRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:36.321+1.859s27
108Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:36.516+2.054s23
1155Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:36.523+2.061s28
1210Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:36.538+2.076s25
1320Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:36.596+2.134s21
1418Lance StrollRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:36.714+2.252s26
157Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:36.770+2.308s22
164Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:36.844+2.382s30
1799Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:37.328+2.866s18
1863George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:38.520+4.058s27
1926Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:38.550+4.088s5
2088Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:38.670+4.208s29