FP1: Bottas on top as Vettel crashes out

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina Circuitae

Unfazed by a back-of-the-grid start on Sunday's Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Valtteri Bottas was the fastest man in first practice, edging out Verstappen and Hamilton by more than half a second.

The Finnish Mercedes driver is using a new internal combustion unit, new turbo and new MGU-H after an engine problem prevented him from finishing the Brazilian Grand Prix. This also means Bottas is to start from the back of the grid.

The Finn was still fastest, much in contrast to Sebastian Vettel's performance, as the Ferrari driver ended up crashing out of the session in Turn 19. Vettel recorded the 5th fastest time, before sliding rearwards into the barriers, two minutes before the end of the session. As the car was stuck with damage on the rear, the session was stopped early to safely clean the track.

Romain Grosjean ended up in 6th as he trialled a new set-up direction for Haas. His teammate Kevin Magnussen was also in the top 10 as they sandwished Charles Leclerc's Ferrari.

Nico Hulkenberg rounded off the top 10 in his provisionally last Formula One race of his career. His Australian Renault team mate was worse off, as his Renault engine blew up spectacularly after 12 laps. It left the Aussie 19th, in between the Williams of Kubica and Russell.


177Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:36.957-23
233Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:37.492+0.535s22
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:37.591+0.634s20
423Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:38.084+1.127s23
55Sebastian VettelFerrari1:38.906+1.949s19
68Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:39.146+2.189s18
716Charles LeclercFerrari1:39.249+2.292s18
820Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:39.350+2.393s19
999Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:39.423+2.466s20
1027Nico HulkenbergRenault1:39.505+2.548s22
114Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:39.628+2.671s18
1218Lance StrollRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:39.864+2.907s23
137Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:39.888+2.931s17
1411Sergio PerezRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:39.901+2.944s17
1526Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:39.969+3.012s20
1610Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:40.401+3.444s17
1755Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:40.687+3.730s23
1888Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:40.792+3.835s21
193Daniel RicciardoRenault1:40.850+3.893s12
2063George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:41.362+4.405s24