FP1: Perez tops first practice at Monaco

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Monaco, Monte Carlo Circuitmc

For the first time this season, Red Bull Racing driver Sergio Pérez topped a session. He was fastest in the first session of the day as drivers got acquainted with the Monaco circuit after not driving there in 2020.

Just like in Spain two weeks ago, a limited number of fans were again present to add to the buzz that defined the Monaco Grand Prix.

Sergio Perez emerged fastest late in the session but needed soft tyres to do so. Carlons Sainz' run on medium tyres therefore seemed all the more impressive as he ended just 0.119s off of the Red Bull. Max Verstappen in third was close behind, also on the medium compound.

Pierre Gasly ended up a respectable fourth for AlphaTauri, topping the Mercedes duo of Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas who both used the medium compound Pirelli tyres, contrary to Gasly's softs.

Lando Norris positioned the Gulf-liveried McLaren MCL35M in 7th place, contrasting to a disappointing 15th for Monaco specialist Daniel Ricciardo.

Sebastian Vettel, Yuki Tsunoda and Kimi Räikkönen completed the top ten.

Home hero Charles Leclerc, who is hoping to end his string of DNFs area Monaco this weekend encountered more misfortune as on only his fourth lap a gearbox issue forced him to return to the pits. The Monegasque wasn't seen on track anymore as mechanics were busy sorting out the problem.


111Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda1:12.487-36
255Carlos SainzFerrari1:12.606+0.119s32
333Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:12.648+0.161s39
410Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri Honda1:12.929+0.442s37
544Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:12.995+0.508s34
677Valtteri BottasMercedes1:13.131+0.644s36
74Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes1:13.236+0.749s31
85Sebastian VettelAston Martin Mercedes1:13.732+1.245s33
922Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri Honda1:13.746+1.259s39
107Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:14.081+1.594s31
1118Lance StrollAston Martin Mercedes1:14.090+1.603s33
1299Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:14.106+1.619s27
1314Fernando AlonsoAlpine Renault1:14.205+1.718s37
146Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes1:14.268+1.781s41
153Daniel RicciardoMcLaren Mercedes1:14.281+1.794s36
1631Esteban OconAlpine Renault1:14.320+1.833s37
179Nikita MazepinHaas Ferrari1:14.616+2.129s33
1847Mick SchumacherHaas Ferrari1:14.801+2.314s35
1963George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:14.840+2.353s35
2016Charles LeclercFerrari1:19.618+7.131s4