Racing Point F1 Team

Team logoBased in: Silverstone, UK
Founded: 7 August 2018


CEO: Otmar Szafnauer
Technical director: Andrew Green
Sporting director: Andy Stevenson
Commercial director: Steve Curnow

Racing Point UK Limited is essentially the continuation of the Force India F1 Team. The latter team, which had been founded by Indian Vijay Mallya had become in dire financial waters and was put under administration on 28 July 2018. Rumours had been abound for awhile, but the team ended up in this situation when their own driver, Serio Pérez started a court case against his team, in an attempt to keep it racing while finding a solution.

On 7 August 2018, the team was taken over by a consortium, led by Canadian Lawrence Stroll. Assets of the team were taken over, but not the team itself. This created a situation where Force India was excluded from the championship, and its points erased, while the new team had to re-apply to compete in F1.

Following admittance, the team completed the remaining 9 races of the season as Racing Point Force India F1 - running the Force India VJM11. In the Belgian Grand Prix, their first race, they immediately scored the best result of the season, with Pérez finishing 5th and Ocon 6th.

Come 2019, the name "Force India" was dropped from the name, and Lance Stroll, son of Lawrence Stroll, joined the team from Williams to join Sergio Pérez.


All Formula One cars of Racing Point F1 Team
Car designationRace years
Racing Point RP192019
Racing Point RP202020