Getting Started...

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
Amireles
Amireles

Getting Started...

So recently I read somewhere that in average it takes around 7 years to master something. I am looking for something new to do, maybe not to master, and I see all you guys here making amazing 3D models of racing cars and then analyzing them and developing them all from the computer. So I decided I want to do this, but I need to start somewhere.

So I am hoping you guys can help me get started with software and resources where I can learn to sketch, model and create these amazing models. As a software engineer I prefer Open Source software, however I can afford high-end software as well if its better. So what do you guys use for your projects and where can I learn more about them?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Jersey Tom
Jersey Tom

Re: Getting Started...

As with many things, the end requirements dictate the tools and means. What specifically do you want to "analyze" or learn about? Aerodynamics? Mechanical (or electro-mechanical) design? Vehicle dynamics? Can easily take 5-7 years to come anywhere close to "mastery" of any of those fields. How realistic or accurate a solution do you want?
Grip is a four letter word. All opinions are my own and not those of current or previous employers.

astracrazy
astracrazy

Most of us i think use Google Sketchup up, is free + there are some good plug ins to help with different things. When i get home i can give you a list of what i've got

Kerkythea renderer to render our models - look at Nicks 2013 for what you can do with Skethup and Kerkythea.

OpenFOAM's good apparently to run cfd test on your models. You need to add Linux to you machine, you can use a virtual window to run on windows. Its open source. I've never had much luck with it though, so i use solidworks.