Superkart aerodynamics

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
Racingf1

Superkart aerodynamics

Hi to everybody!

I'm a mechanical engineering student from Barcelona and as a final project of the degree I decided to design a 3D Superkart, but only the chassis and all the bodywork with Solidworks.

So, I want to ask for your help with the aerodynamics. I know more or less how to design and define all the components with solidworks with the help of Competition car aerodynamics book, some aero foil programmes to help with the NACA rear wing profile. But what I really want to know if there is any way to know the data (the amount of downforce, etc) or any kind of data in order to compare an actual superkart design from Anderson Karts http://www.anderson-csk.co.uk/maverick_div.php or MS Karts http://www.mskart.cz/new/en/catalogue/m ... 250-engine with my future design.

Without this information, I don't know how to prove that my design will be an improvement or at least I'll get close to the numbers obtained from an actual superkart model.

I hope that I made a clear explanation of what I want to do with my project and what information do I need.

Thanks a lot!

Sergi

remydio

Re: Superkart aerodynamics

May be i could help, my father as raced those superkart 250cc the last 25 years in france and europe.
He still have a Petersen chassis i think.

flynfrog

You might have some luck here http://www.ekartingnews.com/forum.php it was a pretty poplar forum in the day

Racingf1

Thanks to remydio and flynfrog!

Any kind of help in order to obtain the information thet I need, it's really wellcomed.

I'll try with ekartingnews website and I'll wait if remydio, you can obtain any technical data.

Thanks a lot

remydio

Should see my father in the nexr days, i'll ask if he does have any sort of solid infos about aero.

Blanchimont

Here's a video of