Key calculations in the Aerodynamics of the BT46

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
alj
alj

Key calculations in the Aerodynamics of the BT46

Hi,

I'm new to F1Techncial. I have a small open wheeler, weighing ~500kgs with me in it. I have tuned the suspension (I realize I must increase the freq of the springs to allow for aero), and I want more from the setup, so I have read some Katz and McBerath, and become very interested in aero!

I'm interested in producing GE with side pods similar to the Lotus 79-80, incorporating the closed in wheels that Williams had. The angles I can guess from the pictures of the Lotus, and I will adjust these angles based on Track testing.

The part I need help with is I would also like to use the main/centre chassis underbody as a fan vacuum similar to the Brabham BT46. The main chassis size is just 2000x1000mm. I have a method of sealing the underside (similar to the 2J), My major question (and my weakness) is on calculations.

I have been looking at fans that can do this, but I do not know how to calculate the negative pressure that they can produce over the main chassis distance. Any help on the calculations would be appreciated!

From my research, I think a hovercraft fan would be easiest and most appropriate to use.

Thrust fans are designed to move the air at high speed with low pressure, where as a lift fan is designed to move the air at a slower speed with higher pressure. Using a thrust fan for lift only will likely cause the fan to stall due to the extreme blade angle. Combined Thrust / Lift fans are used for this purpose to satisfy both conditions in the beach craft.

So if I understand this right I want a lift fan. So I am considering using 2 x 22” fans ~@10hp each. The trick is to get the correct volume AND negative pressure, I just dont know how to calculate this.

Fan information: