Adams car question

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
peaty
peaty

Adams car question

Hi,

I don't know if there is an Adams car guru around here. I'm new to the software and, to be honest, I don't know very well how it works. I'm having some problems with a front suspension. I'm trying to change camber and toe but I'm not pretty sure where about is that change happening. Some people say it's about the hub, someothers say that it kind of make the upper wishbone shorter...At the moment, everytime I change camber KPI also changes...so I'm assuming that the second option is the one happening!? can anyone shed some light on this!?
Another question regarding Adams cars, would it be better if I change my setup in CAD and then use the new coordinates of the setup as hardpoints!? If I do so, will I get toe and camber I have on CAD directly on Adams? I'm not sure what's the best way to go.

Thanks

Tim.Wright

Re: Adams car question

There are 2 ways to change the toe and camber. Parameter variables and adjustable forces.

Parameter variable are in every suspension system and they change the the toe/camber angle in the design position of the car. This is related to the shape of the upright and how it connects to the control arms. It is connected to the DESIGN of the car (specifically the upright) NOT the setup of the car.

When the simulation starts, there will typically be some settling of the springs and bushings and the resulting toe and camber angles will usually be different from those in the design condition because everything has moved a little bit. This is where adjustable forces come in to adjust the angles back to your target values.