Downforce- which explanation is correct?

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
McMrocks
McMrocks

Downforce- which explanation is correct?

Hi guys, i hope this is the correct place for the thread. Before you say that this is off-topic please notice that the post is aimed at the question how downforce is created or how downforce can be explained on F1 cars. I'm currently studying automotive engineering at a University but all the explanations of the fluid dynamics Proffesors couldn't help me.

The lift theory (for aircrafts) we all learn in school goes:
The air moves faster over the top of the wing and therefor the pressure on top of the wing is lower than the pressure beneath it.

This explanation is based on the believe that the air above and below the wing will meet at the trailing edge at the same time. It is called the equal transit theory.
Yet- this is wrong. You can't simply assume that the air molecules have to meet again at the same time. And they don't(0:45) :

This is why NASA says that this is the incorrect lift theory: https://www.grc.nasa.gov/www/k-12/airplane/wrong1.html
I, for my part, believe that NASA is a credible source.

Other websites say that this theory is flawed too: http://www.allstar.fiu.edu/aero/airflylvl3.htm
The usual claim is that when the air separates at the leading edge, the part that goes over the top must converge at the trailing edge with the part that goes under the bottom. This is the so-called "principle of equal transit times".