Tire Pressures 101

Please discuss here all your remarks and pose your questions about all racing series, except Formula One. Both technical and other questions about GP2, Touring cars, IRL, LMS, ...
turboduff
turboduff

Tire Pressures 101

Hello everyone

I am a newbie in Motorsport and I often visit nearby racetrack to watch races. I often see mechanics bleeding off the air from tires sometimes when the car comes into the pits, but I never realy knew how they do it.

Can anyone explain how the tire pressures work, how cold pressures are set and how mechanics control the hot pressures using bleed for contiousnly varying track and atmospheric temperatures?

rscsr

Re: Tire Pressures 101

turboduff wrote:
27 Mar 2018, 02:10
Hello everyone

I am a newbie in Motorsport and I often visit nearby racetrack to watch races. I often see mechanics bleeding off the air from tires sometimes when the car comes into the pits, but I never realy knew how they do it.

Can anyone explain how the tire pressures work, how cold pressures are set and how mechanics control the hot pressures using bleed for contiousnly varying track and atmospheric temperatures?
In essence you want a certain pressure when you are on the track. So you set it to a lower pressure (which you estimate from your target pressure) when the tyre is cold. Obviously everything heats up during a run and therefore you check the pressure and bleed it until you are on the target.
When you heat the tyre again, you are usually pretty close to your target pressure.

turboduff
turboduff

And once when the tire reaches its target pressures it stabilises? If yes, for how long?

rscsr

turboduff wrote:
27 Mar 2018, 09:00
And once when the tire reaches its target pressures it stabilises? If yes, for how long?
I don't think I quite understand what you mean.
But I try anyway.

The mass of air in the tyre is constant. Therefore its pressure depends only on its temperature.