How to gain work experience in motorsport as a student and other questions

Post anything that doesn't belong in any other forum, including gaming and topics unrelated to motorsport. Site specific discussions should go in the site feedback forum.
luismb

How to gain work experience in motorsport as a student and other questions

Hi! I'm in my second year of Mechanical Engineering and I'm located in Madrid, Spain. My goal is to one day become an engineer in F1, WEC or similar motorsports, so I have some questions.

1- I want to do a master's in Motorsports Engineering but I'm unsure where should I go. I've heard that the best place to do this degree is in Oxford Brookes, but I don't know if I'll be able to study abroad, have high enough grades to go there or even afford it. There are options in Spain too, like one run by Campos Racing, which is cheaper and much closer to me. How important is the university where you study your master's degree to get a job in motorsports?

2- Before the master's I want to gain some experience. We don't have a Formula Student in my uni but we have something similar where we build a kart from scratch by ourselves, although with a much smaller budget and no official competition, we just race it in an amateur endurance race when the kart is finished to see if it works. There's a MotoStudent program too, basically a FStudent for motorbikes. I'm thinking of applying for that too next year but I'm not sure I'll be able to do both the kart and MotoStudent without failing all of my subjects. So if I had to choose, which one should I stick to? The amateur kart project or the bigger, more professional MotoStudent?