Renault's new midwing

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
rumpelstulskin
rumpelstulskin

the french certainly know aesthetics :)

inspectah
inspectah

Strange that the wings are so close to each other and vertically on so much the same level. You would think that the first wing wouldn't function properly, because all the air rising up underneath it is disturbed by the wing behind it, and that the second wouldn't work because the other is directly in front of it. Wouldn't a wing the length of the two have done the deal better? I don't know 'cos I'm not an aerodynamics expert...

"not an expert", no --- sherlock

Irvingthien
Irvingthien

Interesting...
Probably works like the Ferrari air box wings...but raised rear end may mean down force generating is the purpose.

West
West

guest wrote:"not an expert", no --- sherlock
You're not exactly the sharpest knife in the drawer, either...

The camber on the wings suggest some downforce is made up there, and the positioning of the second wing acts as if it is "extending" the front wing, adding a little more camber and span. There is probably less disturbance using two wings or flaps as opposed to one big wing.
Bring back wider rear wings, V10s, and tobacco advertisements

Reca
Reca

In case of two airfoils in tandem, the presence of the rear airfoil (2) improves a lot the Cl of the front airfoil (1) inducing a peak of velocity on the nose of 1.
2 on the contrary results a bit penalized by the influence of 1 and that’s one of the reasons usually the angle of attack of 2 is larger (as in the typical wing + flap setup). In the particular case of the Renault design anyway the second wing span isn’t as large as the first one, and actually also the aspect ratio of both wing is quite small so the 3D effects of the tip vortex must be considered.