Why do drivers zig-zag on track?

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
karthik_003

Why do drivers zig-zag on track?

why do drivers go in a zig-zag manner in the warm up lap ?
I heared that it'll increase the grip of the tire ? If so how?
Last edited by mx_tifoso on 21 May 2010, 21:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed title.

bcoxa

Re: is that for grip of tire?

I'm not an engineer, just an experiment.

machin

Basically just by working the tire to get heat into it. Alonso is particularly extreme at this...

The other method is to brake really hard so that heat from the brake discs radiates into the tyre; so you can see some cars accelerating quickly for a short distance and then slowing down quickly in a repeated process.
COMPETITION CAR ENGINEERING -Home of VIRTUAL STOPWATCH

marcush.

karthik_003 wrote:why do drivers go in a zig-zag manner in the warm up lap ?
I heared that it'll increase the grip of the tire ? If so how?
First of all every input you give into the tyre will result in deformation and this will release some energy in the form of heat.

If driving zig-zag on a warmup lap will raise the tyre temps or help to keep them is
in my view negligible.The dedicated applying of braking force that can be seen as well is more useful in creating warm tyres (and brakes ,of course).
It is as well more easy to get the rears up to temps with 700something HP available.. just be a little eager on the throttle and they are there .
To get heat into the fronts ...well understeer seems to heat the tyres very well..

but then we have learned that weaving at speed adds tyre temp s as well .. see Button last year.

Here something from a Bike forum ,makes interesting reading and reflects exactly my experience (of non aero cars):