Hamilton stays fastest in FP2

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Canada, Circuit Gilles Villeneuveca

Lewis Hamilton continued to go fastest in the second practice ahead of the Canadian GP. Just like in the morning, the session was interrupted by a crash, as this time Bruno Senna met with the wall of champions. The Ferrari's of Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa were 2nd and 3rd fastest.

Just as in the morning, Lewis Hamilton quickly took the lead as after 20 minutes he comfortably set the fastest time thus far on the timesheet.

Jenson Button meanwhile didn't drive early on while mechanics were working intensely on his car. The Briton didn't have the greatest FP1 either as he suffered an increasing issue with a slipping clutch. Heikki Kovalainen was also sidelined as his team was still repairing his car from his crash at turn 9 during FP1.

45 minutes into the session, Bruno Senna violently crashed into the "Wall Of Champions", the wall close to the edge of the circuit at the final turn of the track. Senna lost control of his Williams through the chicane and oversteered into the left hander. He hit the wall with the right rear wheel first, then with the front, damaging his car badly. The entire right flank of the car was gone, along with the broken front and rear wing.

The session was stopped for approximately 20 minutes, but when it got underway again, the track was flourishing with action.

Button also finally got underway in the final 15 minutes of the session, completing runs on the prime and option tyre but without setting a really competitive time, partly due to traffic.


14Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes1:15.259-43
25Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:15.3130.05436
36Felipe MassaFerrari1:15.4100.15139
41Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:15.5310.27244
511Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes1:15.5440.28532
614Kamui KobayashiSauber-Ferrari1:15.6510.39237
77Michael SchumacherMercedes1:15.6970.43832
812Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:15.7990.54039
93Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:15.8120.55314
108Nico RosbergMercedes1:15.8780.61940
1115Sergio PerezSauber-Ferrari1:15.8980.63938
122Mark WebberRed Bull Racing-Renault1:15.9070.64841
1318Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault1:15.9870.72839
1410Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:16.3601.10129
159Kimi RäikkönenLotus-Renault1:16.5621.30333
1620Heikki KovalainenCaterham-Renault1:16.9811.72224
1719Bruno SennaWilliams-Renault1:17.0221.76322
1821Vitaly PetrovCaterham-Renault1:17.0751.81641
1917Jean-Eric VergneStr-Ferrari1:17.1241.86541
2016Daniel RicciardoStr-Ferrari1:17.7162.45734
2122Pedro de la RosaHrt-Cosworth1:18.9083.64927
2224Timo GlockMarussia-Cosworth1:19.0843.82540
2323Narain KarthikeyanHrt-Cosworth1:19.3784.11921
2425Charles PicMarussia-Cosworth1:19.9024.64318