Hamilton stays ahead in second practice

By on

As in first practice, Lewis Hamilton set the fastest time in second practice for the Hungarian Grand Prix. This time though, it was Red Bull who were the closest challengers.

Red Bull Racing enjoyed a great run in FP2 with both its cars performing to excellence. In fact, it was all so positive that it wasn't set to last, as little past halfway in the session, Daniel Ricciardo's Renault engine blew out white smoke, signalling its effective death and yet another reliability problem for the French engine manufacturer. While it wasn't his race engine, it looks like that is yet another engine lost, at a time when the team was looking on ways to get to Renault's upgrades in October without incurring further engine change penalties.

Alike his pace on the soft, Hamilton similarly proved fastest on the medium tyres, completing a lap in 1:26.132. Rosberg never really got close to Hamilton's times, having not been able to get a good lap in on the softs.

Behind the leading 4, Raikkonen continued to lead Ferrari's challenge as Vettel repeatedly spun on braking for turn 1. Sainz followed in 6th, ahead of the second Ferrari of Vettel and Fernando Alonso, going on from a strong first practice session.

Further back, Lotus continued to struggle and mixed it up with Sauber, while Manor positioned themselves in their accustomed positions at the back of the pack.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:23.949-36
226Daniil KvyatRed Bull1:24.300+0.351s29
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:24.451+0.502s16
46Nico RosbergMercedes1:24.668+0.719s34
57Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:25.134+1.185s30
655Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:25.599+1.650s37
75Sebastian VettelFerrari1:25.660+1.711s26
814Fernando AlonsoMclaren1:25.752+1.803s31
977Valtteri BottasWilliams1:25.881+1.932s35
1019Felipe MassaWilliams1:25.920+1.971s31
1133Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:25.935+1.986s19
1222Jenson ButtonMclaren1:25.994+2.045s32
1313Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:26.090+2.141s36
1412Felipe NasrSauber1:26.379+2.430s36
158Romain GrosjeanLotus1:26.442+2.493s39
169Marcus EricssonSauber1:26.831+2.882s29
1798Roberto MerhiManor1:29.113+5.164s29
1828Will StevensManor1:29.115+5.166s28