Hamilton stays ahead in second practice

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Spain, Circuit de Catalunyaes

The top 6 of the afternoon practice session ahead of the Spanish Grand Prix turned out to be an exact copy of that in first practice. The differences were smaller than in the morning, but Lewis Hamilton still led Valtteri Bottas in the eventual standings.

Following up on trialling new components in the morning, most teams went on to do some qualifying runs on the soft tyres, along with longer runs on the medium Pirellis.

While Red Bull also confirmed their progress by staying within a second of Hamilton, Nico Hulkenberg did as well, even though Renault only brought a minor update package before doing larger upgrades to their car in the next few race weekends.

Jolyon Palmer, who sat out the morning session in favour of Sergei Sirotkin followed up in 8th, narrowly quicker than Felipe Massa. Carlos Sainz completes the top 10 for Toro Rosso.

The second half of the order was made up largely by Sauber, Haas, Force India and of course McLaren. For the Honda powered team, fortunes were again mixed. While Vandoorne quietly went on to go 13th fastest, Alonso continued to be frustrated, and in the end of the session reported cynically "The engine feels good, much slower than before. Amazing".


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:20.802-39
277Valtteri BottasMercedes1:20.892+0.090s38
37Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:21.112+0.310s34
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:21.220+0.418s36
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:21.438+0.636s29
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:21.585+0.783s35
727Nico HulkenbergRenault1:21.687+0.885s40
830Jolyon PalmerRenault1:21.992+1.190s43
919Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:22.015+1.213s38
1055Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:22.265+1.463s34
118Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:22.371+1.569s36
1231Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:22.520+1.718s37
132Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:22.693+1.891s36
1411Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:22.722+1.920s32
1520Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:23.007+2.205s32
169Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:23.082+2.280s37
1718Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:23.221+2.419s35
1826Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:23.236+2.434s27
1994Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:23.599+2.797s31
2014Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:24.077+3.275s21