Ferrari takes charge in final practice

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Spain, Circuit de Catalunyaes

Having been seriously outpaced on Friday, the Scuderia Ferrari cars were to be found on top of the timesheet at the end of FP3, the final session before qualifying later today. Kimi Räikkonen topped the session and was nearly 4 tenths quicker than yesterday's fastest man, Lewis Hamilton.

Sebastian Vettel was second fastest and Valtteri Bottas fourth, both completing a mere 7 laps. For the latter, it was a rather annoying session, as he only managed to get out on track 8 minutes from the end. Mercedes crew had been working overnight to resolve an electrical issue on his car, only to find a water leak when they re-assembled the power unit. This forced the team to revert Bottas to the power unit he used in the first four races, therefore lacking the updates that were fitted on the second specification he and Hamilton used on Friday.

Red Bull's duo, Verstappen and Ricciardo, were 5th and 6th yet again, in the same order as on Friday. Once more, the gap to the pace setters for the bulls was around a second.

Nico Hulkenberg continued to impress and was 7th fastest for Renault, ahead of Felipe Massa and Carlos Sainz. Fernando Alonso punched back from an extremely disappointing Friday by rounding off the top 10 at the end of the 60-minute session. The Spaniard was however already nearly 2 seconds down on the pace setters, with the cars ranked behind him closely matched.


17Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:20.214-20
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:20.456+0.242s7
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:20.595+0.381s12
477Valtteri BottasMercedes1:20.868+0.654s7
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:21.025+0.811s14
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:21.249+1.035s15
727Nico HulkenbergRenault1:21.670+1.456s13
819Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:21.746+1.532s19
955Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:21.835+1.621s19
1014Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:22.093+1.879s16
118Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:22.128+1.914s21
1220Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:22.214+2.000s12
1311Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:22.237+2.023s19
1431Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:22.297+2.083s22
1526Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:22.391+2.177s15
169Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:22.513+2.299s20
1718Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:22.574+2.360s19
1830Jolyon PalmerRenault1:22.755+2.541s13
192Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:22.853+2.639s15
2094Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:22.974+2.760s19