Vettel tops FP2 while Mercedes gets set-up wrong

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Monaco, Monte Carlo Circuitmc

Sebastian Vettel emerged ahead in the second practice session of the day at Monaco. By setting a lap record around the Monaco urban track, he was half a second faster than Daniel Ricciardo and another tenth ahead of the second Ferrari of Kimi Räikkönen.

Toro Rosso saw its drivers go 4th and 5th quickest. Their position ahead of Verstappen and Perez indicates the team have done a solid job setting up their car, given that outright power output is slightly less important at this twisty track.

Lewis Hamilton, the fastest man of the morning didn't get closer than 8th, lagging 1.1s behind the pace setter. His Mercedes team mate Valtteri Bottas was even further back in 10th. The team later admitted they went the wrong direction with their car set-up, and will have to redo their homework ahead of Saturday.

Just out of the top 10 is McLaren Honda, with Vandoorne edging out his one-time team mate Jenson Button by just 0.035s.

Contrary to the morning session, several drivers were seen scratching the barriers. It was Lance Stroll however who was the first of the weekend to do a proper crash, going off at Massenet.


15Sebastian VettelFerrari1:12.720-38
23Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:13.207+0.487s35
37Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:13.283+0.563s46
426Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:13.331+0.611s41
555Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:13.400+0.680s43
633Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:13.486+0.766s36
711Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:13.799+1.079s45
844Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:13.873+1.153s31
920Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:13.890+1.170s46
1077Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:13.902+1.182s39
112Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:13.946+1.226s42
1222Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda1:13.981+1.261s37
1319Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:14.003+1.283s46
148Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:14.022+1.302s44
1531Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:14.093+1.373s47
1618Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:14.474+1.754s27
1727Nico HulkenbergRenault1:14.870+2.150s41
1830Jolyon PalmerRenault1:15.616+2.896s8
199Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:15.691+2.971s32
2094Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:15.695+2.975s37