Hamilton heads Vettel in first practice at Monaco

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Monaco, Monte Carlo Circuitmc

The protagonists of the Spanish Grand Prix were those that led the first practice session of the weekend at Monaco. Race winner Lewis Hamilton continued where he left off, leading championship leader Sebastian Vettel by 2 tenths of a second.

A surprisingly straightforward session saw nobody create damage to their cars, not even over the new and unpopular kerbstones on the exit of the swimming pool complex. There were some people who got some braking wrong, including Romain Grosjean who overshot his braking point at Ste Devote before spinning back onto the track.

Vettel, Verstappen, Magnussen and Wehrlein were seen missing the chicane, but none in such a way that they ended up damaging their cars.

The result was that most drivers managed to complete a large amount of laps during the 90-minute session. This was also helped by the extremely low degradation on the Pirelli tyres, with even the ultra soft enabling drivers to post quick times after more than 15 laps.

On his return to the cockpit, Jenson Button meanwhile ended up 14th fastest. The Briton looked strong throughout the session, didn't put a foot wrong and seemed to already push team mate Vandoorne, even though opting for the soft compound as he focused on longer runs.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:13.425-40
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:13.621+0.196s34
333Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:13.771+0.346s32
477Valtteri BottasMercedes1:13.791+0.366s40
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:13.854+0.429s45
626Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:14.111+0.686s42
77Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:14.164+0.739s37
811Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:14.201+0.776s32
955Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:14.333+0.908s39
1031Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:14.425+1.000s39
1119Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:14.617+1.192s37
122Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:14.813+1.388s38
1320Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:14.870+1.445s34
1422Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda1:14.954+1.529s35
158Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:15.321+1.896s33
1618Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:15.595+2.170s44
1730Jolyon PalmerRenault1:15.949+2.524s42
1894Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:16.258+2.833s33
1927Nico HulkenbergRenault--3
209Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari--3