Raikkonen fastest in second practice

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Canada, Circuit Gilles Villeneuveca

Kimi Raikkonen put Ferrari in front in the second free practice session of the Canadian Grand Prix weekend while the battle for Canada appeared to intensify, with Red Bull's Max Verstappen closing in to approach the performance of Ferrari and Mercedes.

The top 5, including both Ferrari and Mercedes cars, joined with Max Verstappen were separated by less than half a second. Behind that leading pack, Felipe Massa led the 'best of the rest', albeit already more than a second down on today's pace setter.

Fernando Alonso bounced back from the troublesome first practice to go 7th fastest, despite again missing the first half of the session as his mechanics continued to fix the hydraulic issues that sidelined him in FP1.

Esteban Ocon was 8th fastest, followed by Kvyat and Perez who completed the top 10. Just like in first practice, this meant that both Force India cars made it into the top 10.

A large number of minor incidents dominated the session, with particularly Romain Grosjean spinning multiple times. Numerous others had off track excursions as well, but all managed to escape without damage to their cars. The technical issues this session were to be found on the Red Bull cars, with Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo suffering a suspected engine failure after just 8 laps.

Max Verstappen had a more productive session, but he too suffered technical issues and brought out the red flags as he lost drive 20 minutes from the end of the session.


17Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:12.935-41
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:13.150+0.215s41
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:13.200+0.265s41
477Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:13.310+0.375s42
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:13.388+0.453s25
619Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:14.063+1.128s38
714Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:14.245+1.310s19
831Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:14.299+1.364s46
926Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:14.461+1.526s38
1011Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:14.501+1.566s41
118Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:14.566+1.631s33
1227Nico HulkenbergRenault1:14.604+1.669s38
1355Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:14.621+1.686s43
1420Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:14.676+1.741s35
153Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:15.072+2.137s8
1630Jolyon PalmerRenault1:15.127+2.192s40
1718Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:15.240+2.305s40
189Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:15.611+2.676s31
192Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:15.624+2.689s20
2094Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:16.308+3.373s31