Bottas tops second practice for Italian GP

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Italy, Autodromo Nazionale di Monzait

The second free practice session of the Italian GP weekend ended with Valtteri Bottas on top of the timesheet. The fastest man of the morning, Lewis Hamilton was less than a tenth slower. Sebastian Vettel headed the Ferrari duo in third and fourth.

As has become somewhat traditional, Ferrari were much closer in FP2 than they were in the morning session. In fact, they were the only ones get to within a second of the Mercedes, as Verstappen was 5th fastest but already 1.003s slower than Bottas.

Ricciardo was 6th fastest, somewhat surprisingly followed by McLaren's Stoffel Vandoorne and Fernando Alonso. Both of them enjoyed troublefree sessions and must be boosted by the performance displayed at the high speed Autodromo di Monza. Still, it only counts on Sunday.

Esteban Ocon was 9th fastest for Force India while Felipe Massa was 10th, just like this morning.

Overall, it was a reasonably straightforward session. Carlos Sainz did however seem to suffer an engine failure that could add more penalty points to the 10 he will serve for taking on a new, 5th MGU-H this weekend. Daniel Ricciardo similarly had to stop his car near the end of the session. He too, just like Max Verstappen, is facing grid penalties for taking a new MGU-H from Renault.


177Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:21.406-25
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:21.462+0.056s24
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:21.546+0.140s33
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:21.804+0.398s34
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:22.409+1.003s34
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:22.752+1.346s22
72Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:22.947+1.541s31
814Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:22.968+1.562s31
931Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:22.977+1.571s43
1019Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:22.985+1.579s42
1155Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:23.150+1.744s21
1227Nico HulkenbergRenault1:23.272+1.866s14
1330Jolyon PalmerRenault1:23.317+1.911s34
1411Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:23.352+1.946s43
1518Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:23.403+1.997s36
168Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:23.567+2.161s31
1720Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:23.650+2.244s20
1826Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:24.253+2.847s28
199Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:24.894+3.488s39
2094Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:25.295+3.889s25