Hamilton tops first practice in Shanghai

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP China, Shanghai International Ciruitcn

Lewis Hamilton enjoyed a well functioning Mercedes AMG F1 W09 car in the morning session at China as he topped the timesheet with team mate Valtteri Bottas backing him up in third. Ferrari driver Kimi Raikkonen split the duo, even though he used the ultrasoft tyres for that, a compound which neither Mercedes driver used.

Both Red Bull drivers followed up in 4th and 5th, ahead of Championship leader Sebastian Vettel. It hence marks another start of a race weekend where Raikkonen is ahead of Vettel, as has become the norm this season so far.

The top 10 is completed by the Haas and Renault drivers, with Magnussen the fastest of them, half a second clear of Sainz who is eigth fastest.

The start of the session was unusually busy, possibly due to rain being forecast. Ahead of the expected proper rain, there was some drizzle at various moments during the practice session, but not enough to upset anyone. The wind on the other hand, as is commonly the case at the Shanghai International Circuit did create some trouble, most notably in Turn 6 and Turn 10.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:33.999-22
27Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:34.358+0.359s14
377Valtteri BottasMercedes1:34.457+0.458s28
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:34.537+0.538s22
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:34.668+0.669s22
65Sebastian VettelFerrari1:34.861+0.862s18
720Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:35.178+1.179s21
855Carlos SainzRenault1:35.616+1.617s23
98Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:35.718+1.719s21
1027Nico HulkenbergRenault1:35.800+1.801s18
1110Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:36.037+2.038s21
1214Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:36.044+2.045s29
1311Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:36.051+2.052s28
1431Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:36.351+2.352s32
1535Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:36.691+2.692s31
1628Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:36.715+2.716s23
1716Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:36.723+2.724s23
182Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:36.756+2.757s25
199Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:36.909+2.910s21
2018Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:37.277+3.278s28