Ricciardo sets Friday pace at Baku

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Azerbaijan, Baku Street Circuitaz

Chinese Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo set the Friday pace at Baku by going fastest in the practice 2 in the streets of Baku. The Australian was narrowly faster than Kimi Raikkonen with Max Verstappen closely following up in third.

Having narrowly trailed Valtteri Bottas in FP1, using the super soft tyres, Ricciardo this time around ran some laps on the ultra soft to demonstrate the true pace that Red Bull have in hand this weekend. Team mate Max Verstappen backed him up in third, underlining that Red Bull Racing will likely by strong this weekend.

Once again, Lewis Hamilton was quite a bit down on the pace setter, failing to set a flyer early on in the session. Focusing on longer runs after that, Bottas ended up ahead of him, although not by a big margin.

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel was even worse off, down in 11th. The German continued to struggle with rear end grip, and despite totalling 38 laps didn't appear to have found comfortable settings for him by the end of the 90 minute session. As in previous races however, Raikkonen has usually emerged ahead on Friday, only to see Vettel get the better of him when qualifying comes.

With Vettel out of position, Fernando Alonso led the midfield pack in 6th, ahead of Ocon, Sainz, Magnussen and Hulkenberg. Sergio Perez followed up in 12th as Force India slipped down the ranking order a bit compared to FP1.

At the back, it's again Stoffel Vandoorne, who is 19th, just like in the first session. It's hardly encouraging for the Belgian, as he ended up slower than Stroll, who dubbed his car undriveable, and ahead only of Marcus Ericsson, whose Sauber Ferrari encountered a gearbox issue after jut 8 laps.


13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:42.795-35
27Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:42.864+0.069s33
333Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:42.911+0.116s27
477Valtteri BottasMercedes1:43.570+0.775s25
544Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:43.603+0.808s31
614Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:43.700+0.905s34
731Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:43.814+1.019s30
855Carlos SainzRenault1:43.834+1.039s36
920Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:43.977+1.182s29
1027Nico HulkenbergRenault1:44.091+1.296s33
115Sebastian VettelFerrari1:44.127+1.332s38
1211Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:44.142+1.347s31
138Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:44.425+1.630s27
1418Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:44.459+1.664s31
1510Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:44.712+1.917s39
1616Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:44.940+2.145s30
1735Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:45.007+2.212s33
1828Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:45.051+2.256s36
192Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:45.288+2.493s29
209Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:46.042+3.247s9