Vettel tops shortened FP3

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Azerbaijan, Baku Street Circuitaz

Sebastian Vettel topped the timesheet when Williams' Sergey Sirotkin planted his car into the barriers. Being minutes before the end of the session, no further running was done, possibly giving a skewed view of who is where.

Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel seemed at ease and was comfortably fastest in the final practice session ahead of qualifying. A surprise turnaround after the German had struggled for rear end grip throughout Friday.

Lewis Hamilton, who said on Friday that his Mercedes team were just not quick enough at Baku, ended up 0.361s down on the pace setter. The second Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen completed the top three.

Valtteri Bottas was running in 4th until a quick lap by Verstappen just ahead of the session's early stoppage moved him up into 4th. Perez followed in 6th, narrowly faster than Kevin Magnussen in the Haas. Both men were however 4 tenths down on Bottas.

Lance Stroll did well to go 8th fastest for Williams while Esteban Ocon and Sergey Sirotkin completed the top 10. The latter did overshadow Williams' performance by going into the barriers minutes before the end of the session. The crash broke the front right suspension and parts of the car's floor, giving mechanics some work before qualifying kicks off in 2 hours.

Little time was left in the session, so it was decided not to start it again, notably leaving Daniel Ricciardo 12th on the timing sheet.


15Sebastian VettelFerrari1:43.091-17
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:43.452+0.361s16
37Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:43.493+0.402s17
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:43.519+0.428s17
577Valtteri BottasMercedes1:43.569+0.478s20
611Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:43.936+0.845s9
720Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:43.958+0.867s11
818Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:44.123+1.032s8
931Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:44.220+1.129s11
1035Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:44.534+1.443s9
1114Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:44.763+1.672s12
123Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:44.861+1.770s17
1310Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:44.905+1.814s16
1416Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:45.218+2.127s15
158Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:45.261+2.170s12
1655Carlos SainzRenault1:45.432+2.341s15
1727Nico HulkenbergRenault1:45.456+2.365s11
182Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:45.505+2.414s13
199Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:45.910+2.819s17
2028Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:46.186+3.095s11