FP1: Leclerc heads first practice at Bahrain

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Bahrain, Bahrain International Circuitbh

Ferrari started the first practice at Bahrain seemingly in the form they ended winter testing, as Leclerc easily went fastest during the first 90 minutes of running.

Leclerc had started the weekend, claiming that Ferrari had not been able to show their true pace at the first race in Melbourne, Australia. And once on track, that appeared to be true, despite the team admitting they still don't really know why the Ferrari performed less than expected in Albert Park.

At Sakhir, Leclerc led his teammate Sebastian Vettel by 0.263 seconds, and interestingly nearly a second faster than Valtteri Bottas, who ended up third in the Mercedes. World Champion Lewis Hamilton was 4th fastest, a few tenths down on the Finn.

The Red Bull duo, Max Verstappen and Pierre Gasly followed up in 5th and 6th, ahead of Carlos Sainz in the fastest McLaren. The Spaniard changed to a new MGU-K after the first one caused an engine failure early on during the Australian Grand Prix.

Nico Hulkenberg was the fastest Renault in 8th while team mate Daniel Ricciardo ended up 11th. The Australian has the posession of a new Renault R.S.19 chassis after problems at his home venue.

Daniil Kvyat and Kimi raikkonen made sure Toro Rosso and Alfa Romeo were also present in the top 10.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:30.354-20
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:30.617+0.263s21
377Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:31.328+0.974s26
444Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:31.601+1.247s23
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:31.673+1.319s21
610Pierre GaslyRed Bull Racing Honda1:31.815+1.461s17
755Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:31.952+1.598s28
827Nico HulkenbergRenault1:32.040+1.686s17
926Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:32.339+1.985s24
107Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:32.385+2.031s23
113Daniel RicciardoRenault1:32.401+2.047s19
1220Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:32.602+2.248s21
1323Alexander AlbonScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:32.874+2.520s24
1411Sergio PerezRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:32.885+2.531s20
154Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:32.945+2.591s29
1699Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:32.949+2.595s22
178Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:32.994+2.640s22
1818Lance StrollRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:33.518+3.164s16
1963George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:34.188+3.834s26
2088Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:34.253+3.899s27