Hamilton tops the second session as Mercedes continues to dominate

By on

Mercedes once again demonstrated its dominance by setting the fastest lap courtesy of Lewis Hamilton who posted a time of 1'25.606 on the yellow-walled medium Pirelli compound.

Despite the threat of rain, drivers remained calm when the green lights appeared at the end of the pit lane, waiting in their cars for several minutes. Eight minutes passed before the first timed lap was posted.

Racing Point drivers Lance Stroll and Nico Hülkenberg set the pace in the early stages of the session. The 32-year-old clearly settled in well at his new team following his shock return to F1 last weekend.

However, the dominance of the Pink Mercedes did not last long after Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas set a 1m25.917. While the Finn used the medium compound, his team-mate Lewis Hamilton opted for the red-walled soft rubber as Mercedes wanted to make a direct comparison between the two compounds.

While the FP1 saw drivers prefer the soft tyres, they were keen to trial the two other compounds in the afternoon session too, expecting a tough race in terms of tyre wear.

In the closing stages of the session, drivers concentrated on race runs, preparing themselves for Sunday’s race that should pose a challenge to teams in terms of tyre degradation.

At the end of his race run, Sebastian Vettel’s Ferrari stopped on the track, leaving a huge amount of oil on the national pit straight. Vettel parked his car down at the exit of the national pit complex, triggering a virtual safety car period. Ferrari confirmed that the quadruple champion suffered an engine problem.

Just moments after the session resumed, Antonio Giovinazzi’s Alfa Romeo stopped on the circuit, enforcing a red flag. As there were just 90 seconds left on the clock, the race direction decided to stop the session.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:25.606-22
277Valtteri BottasMercedes1:25.782+0.176s22
33Daniel RicciardoRenault1:26.421+0.815s29
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:26.437+0.831s15
518Lance StrollRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:26.501+0.895s24
627Nico HulkenbergRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:26.746+1.140s26
716Charles LeclercFerrari1:26.812+1.206s32
84Lando NorrisMclaren Renault1:26.867+1.261s26
955Carlos SainzMclaren Renault1:26.918+1.312s24
1031Esteban OconRenault1:26.928+1.322s25
1123Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:26.960+1.354s25
1226Daniil KvyatAlphatauri Honda1:27.002+1.396s33
1310Pierre GaslyAlphatauri Honda1:27.128+1.522s31
145Sebastian VettelFerrari1:27.198+1.592s30
158Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:27.294+1.688s28
1663George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:27.320+1.714s31
177Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:27.535+1.929s30
1820Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:27.582+1.976s28
196Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes1:27.683+2.077s32
2099Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:27.955+2.349s26