FP2: Verstappen and Leclerc dominate second practice in Turkey

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Turkey, Istanbul Parktr

After topping the opening practice for the Turkish Grand Prix, Max Verstappen continued to set the pace in the afternoon session, followed by Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc.

Drivers were keen to take it to the Intercity Istanbul Park this afternoon after they experienced an unusually low-grip slippery sufrace in the opening session. The track provided so less grip in the morning that several drivers opted against setting any meaningful lap times, including Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Renault racer Daniel Ricciardo.

The situation has improved significantly for the afternoon with drivers finding a better track condition on the track that last played host to a Formula One race in 2011.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen and Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc dominated the session with the Dutchman ending up fastest with a time of 1m28.330. The Monegasque was classified second after going four tenths of a second slower than Verstappen. The Ferrari driver was the most diligent driver by notching up 45 laps in total on the relatively long, 5.3km long track.

Mercedes drivers Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton managed to pick up the pace in the afternoon, but they were over half a second behind the pace-setting Verstappen.

Following their strong showing at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, AlphaTauri drivers Daniil Kvyat and Pierre Gasly were once again quick, ending up 6th and 7th fastest respectively. On the contrary, Renault did not manage to find the rhythm on the slippery surface with both Esteban Ocon and Daniel Riccardo failing to get into the top 10.


133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:28.330-37
216Charles LeclercFerrari1:28.731+0.401s45
377Valtteri BottasMercedes1:28.905+0.575s43
444Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:29.180+0.850s39
523Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:29.363+1.033s42
626Daniil KvyatAlphatauri Honda1:29.689+1.359s43
710Pierre GaslyAlphatauri Honda1:29.944+1.614s43
85Sebastian VettelFerrari1:30.022+1.692s41
918Lance StrollRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:30.297+1.967s38
104Lando NorrisMclaren Renault1:30.735+2.405s39
1111Sergio PerezRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:31.104+2.774s38
1231Esteban OconRenault1:31.380+3.050s36
1399Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:31.493+3.163s39
1455Carlos SainzMclaren Renault1:31.498+3.168s40
153Daniel RicciardoRenault1:31.660+3.330s35
167Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:31.932+3.602s43
1763George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:32.302+3.972s39
188Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:32.570+4.240s33
1920Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:32.807+4.477s37
206Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes1:33.488+5.158s40