FP1: Verstappen tops first practice in Turkey

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Turkey, Istanbul Parktr

Red Bull Racing driver Max Verstappen ended up fastest at the end of the opening practice session for the Turkish Grand Prix as drivers struggled with the slippery track surface.

Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas set the pace initially, but lap times were some 20 seconds slower than expected. Drivers quickly gave an explanation for the slower than anticipated lap times as they began to complain about the slippery surface of the track. Max Verstappen claimed that conditions were similar to “driving on ice.”

At the end of the session, Red Bull drivers emerged fastest with Verstappen setting the fastest lap with a time of 1m35.077, followed by his teammate Alexander Albon.

Ferrari drivers appeared to be in a good form on the slippery track with Charles Leclerc ending up third fastest, four tenths of a second behind the leading time of Verstappen. Vettel was just a tenth of a second off his teammate.

Despite setting the early pace, Bottas finished down in 9th while his teammate Lewis Hamilton never really set a representative lap time, the Briton classified as 15th.

Renault’s Daniel Ricciardo was also among the drivers who found the conditions extremely tricky with the Australian ending up 18th, over 10 seconds off the pace. His teammate Esteban Ocon felt more comfortable in the challenging condition, setting the 10th fastest lap time.


133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:35.077-29
223Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:35.318+0.241s27
316Charles LeclercFerrari1:35.507+0.430s26
410Pierre GaslyAlphatauri Honda1:35.543+0.466s26
55Sebastian VettelFerrari1:35.620+0.543s29
626Daniil KvyatAlphatauri Honda1:36.738+1.661s27
74Lando NorrisMclaren Renault1:37.216+2.139s21
899Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:37.503+2.426s21
977Valtteri BottasMercedes1:37.629+2.552s23
1031Esteban OconRenault1:38.428+3.351s23
116Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes1:38.508+3.431s18
1211Sergio PerezRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:38.612+3.535s22
1318Lance StrollRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:39.484+4.407s21
148Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:40.025+4.948s25
1544Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:40.225+5.148s12
167Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:41.035+5.958s23
1720Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:41.854+6.777s21
183Daniel RicciardoRenault1:45.156+10.079s20
1955Carlos SainzMclaren Renault1:46.462+11.385s12
2063George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:49.256+14.179s17