Race guide for the Mexican Grand Prix

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Mexico, Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguezmx

Hot on the heels of the thrilling United States Grand Prix, the Formula One field heads now south to Mexico for the Mexico City Grand Prix, Round 19 of the 2023 FIA Formula One World Championship. F1Technical's Balázs Szabó delivers the race guide for the race taking place in the third-largest country in North America.

The famous brothers

On 4 November 1962, the Mexican Grand Prix opened its history book with its very first chapter in form of a non-championship race. The Magdalena Mixhuca track was the first international race track in Mexico and was built within the confines of a park in the center part of Mexico City. This non-championship event was won by Team Lotus with Jim Clark behind the wheel who took over the car of his teammate Trevor Taylor to claim the win. The event was marred by the death of the young talent Ricardo Rodriguez.

1963 saw Formula One visit the Magdalena Mixhuca track for the very first time. It was once again Jim Clark to win the race, but this time without the help of a team-mate. The races until 1970 on this track generated title-decider events and battles between greats like Clark, Lorenzo Bandini, Dan Gurney, John Surtees, Graham Hill, Jo Siffert, Jackie Stewart or Denny Hulme.

One of the most exciting events was the one in 1964 when John Surtees secured the title for Ferrari. The Briton was driving in third place which has not been enough to clinch the title against his rival Graham Hill. However, his team Ferrari asked Surtees’s team-mate Lorenzo Bandini to let the Englishman through, he was crowned champion, winning the title by a single point.

In 1970, Pedro Rodriguez, the elder brother of Ricardo Rodriguez magnetized the Mexican people. An enormous crowd of approximately 200000 spectators visited the event, but the officials struggled to control that mass. The race was marred by different problems. As official failed to handle the enormous crowd, the race had to be delayed by an hour.

A number of attempts to bring Mexico back on the F1 calendar failed. In 1986, the former Magdalena Mixhuca circuit which was renamed for Mexico’s two lost racing heros, Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez made its reappearance on the F1 calendar. That inaugural race of the second period was won by Austrian Gerhard Berger in his Benetton B186. The race in 1987 was completed in two parts after a heavy crash of Derek Warwick in the Peraltada bend. That race was won by Nigel Mansell.

The 1988 and 1989 GPs were dominated by McLaren. Alain Prost won the ’88 race while Ayrton Senna secured the victory in the following season. After showing a stirring drive, Alain Prost won in 1990, this time driving for Ferrari. He started the race from the 13th position, but stromed through the field to the second place and then took the lead when Ayrton Senna was forced to retire following a slow puncture and suspension damage.

Italian Riccardo Patrese won the 1991 race in his Williams-Renault. His teammate Nigel Mansell won next year in front of Patrese. The air pollution and the decaying track surface with the ubiquitous bumps saw Formula One leave Mexico for the second time.

In August 2011, Carlos Slim Domit revealed plans for a revived race. High level sources suggested that the Mexican Grand Prix would return in 2014. However, FIA announced that the Mexican Grand Prix was postponed to 2015 due to lack of sufficient preparation time to upgrade the somewhat run-down Hermanos Rodríguez circuit to Formula 1 working standards. Nico Rosberg won the inaugural race in the third edition of the GP.

An illustrious quartet

The list of the most successful drivers in Mexico comprises an illustrious quartet. Jim Clark, Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell and Max Verstappen have all won the famous and beloved event on two occasions apiece. Max Verstappen and Jim Clark are the most successful drivers around the Hermanos Rodríguez race track with three wins apiece while Lewis Hamilton has won on two occasions.

Lotus, McLaren and Williams share the title of the most successful racing team in the history of the Mexican Grand Prix. All three outfits have won three times while Ferrari, Mercedes and Red Bull are two-time Mexican GP winning squads.

When it comes to the engine manufacturers, Honda holds the record for most wins with five triumphs with Mercedes occupying the second place. Next on the list are Renault and Ferrari with two triumphs.

Long straights and slow corners

The distinctive element of this venue is its incredibly high altitude. This affects the cars in several ways: downforce and drag are both reduced, due to there being less air to move. Also, the output from the power unit is reduced, and the cooling on the cars is more difficult to manage.

The effect of the slipstream is lower than at other tracks, due to there being less air to punch through. This also makes DRS less effective. Regardless, there are three zones, and the majority of the overtakes (around 70 percent) happen into Turn One at the end of the long straight.

With its current length of 4.304km, the Hermanos Rodriguez track is among the shorter race curses. To cover the whole race distance of 305.584km, drivers have to complete 66 laps on Sunday. The track layout is formed by 16 turns, of which 9 are right-handed ones. The track is usually

The stretch between the first row and the first corner is an eyebrow-raising length of 890m which makes the start a battle for the perfect tow just as it is on the Sochi race track. Drivers have to cover a distance of 378m in the pit lane. This long segment aided by the very low tyre wear means that a one-stop-strategy is the aim of the strategists.

The circuit has long straights, especially the start-finish straight, but it lacks of fast bends. Drivers fail to achieve cornering speeds above the 250kph limit. However, the velocity drops below the 100kph mark in six corners. The slowest part of the track is the area section which is made up by twisty, low-speed corners where the car’s suspension goes through a thorough test. The speed in the slowest corner of the circuit is 78kph.

Drivers have to apply the braking pedal eight times during a lap, three of those braking zones are heavy ones.