WMSC confirms new points system

By on

The World Motor Sport Council has today reached an agreement and confirms that the new points system will be instated for the upcoming Formula One season. It was believed that a new system was appropriate given the increased number of teams that will participate.

As of 2010, teams and drivers will score points as follows, awarded for their race finishing positions:

1st: 25 points
2nd: 20 points
3rd: 15 points
4th: 10 points
5th: 8 points
6th: 6 points
7th: 5 points
8th: 3 points
9th: 2 points
10th: 1 point

While the new system emphasizes the points difference between a win and the places behind, a small calculation shows that from recent years, none of the championships would have ended with a different winner. In fact, 2008 would also have been decided in favour of Hamilton with a one point advantage over Felipe Massa.