Teams decide on tyre test days

By on

The F1 teams have agreed with Pirelli the exact dates of when each team will do tyre testing during one of the in-season testing days. The FIA has subsequently validated and confirmed the dates.

Each team will have to devote one day of testing this year to tyres for 2015, as written in the latest sporting regulation (under article 22.6h). This new rule is the result of requests from Pirelli to Formula One’s rule-makers at the end of last season. The tyres that each team will use during its nominated tyre test days will be supplied by Pirelli and will not form part of the 135 allocated sets for testing purposes each year.

The agreement, which was finalised during the final pre-season Bahrain test (from 27 February to 2 March), stipulates that each team will devote one day per year exclusively to testing the latest products and developments from Pirelli, within the framework of the existing test calendar. The definition of this tyre test schedule has been agreed by all parties involved.

Bahrain test (8-9 April) Day1 - Caterham F1
Day2 - Mercedes AMG and Williams F1

Barcelona test (13-14 May) Day1 - Sauber F1 Team and Scuderia Toro Rosso
Day2 - McLaren and Sahara Force India

Silverstone test (8-9 July) Day1 - Scuderia Ferrari and Lotus F1 Team
Day2 - Red Bull Racing and Marussia

For the last two days of this year’s test calendar (Abu Dhabi, 25-26 November) Pirelli will supply all the teams with prototype tyres in preparation for the 2015 season.