Rosberg ahead in first practice at Russia

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Russia, Sochi International Street Circuitru

World Champioship leader Nico Rosberg comfortably set the pace in the first practice session at Sochi, in preperation for the Russian Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton was second fastest, nearly 3 quarters of a second slower than his team mate.

All eyes however were on Red Bull, as they ran a prototype version of their windscreen, an alternative design to the halo tested by Ferrari earlier in an attempt to improve driver safety as of 2017. The proposed windscreen lacks a central pillar ahead of the driver's helmet, offering advantages for driver visibility. Questions arose however on how oil or rain may reduce visibility with Red Bull's proposal.

Running proceeded as usual for the other teams though, with Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen ending up 3rd and 4th fastest. The scarlet cars however did not fit the super soft tyres yet, and instead set their fastest times on the softs.

Felipe Massa went 5th fastest after sitting out the first half of the session while Williams were fixing a clutch issue on his car. Red Bull's Ricciardo slotted in just behind after the team removed the windscreen and reverted the car to its race specification.


16Nico RosbergMercedes1:38.127-32
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:38.849+0.722s31
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:39.175+1.048s19
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:39.332+1.205s18
519Felipe MassaWilliams1:39.365+1.238s14
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:39.650+1.523s24
777Valtteri BottasWilliams1:39.802+1.675s34
826Daniil KvyatRed Bull Racing1:40.218+2.091s26
911Sergio PerezForce India1:40.287+2.160s22
1055Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:40.654+2.527s21
1122Jenson ButtonMclaren1:40.663+2.536s19
1214Fernando AlonsoMclaren1:40.771+2.644s18
1346Sergey SirotkinRenault1:40.898+2.771s24
1412Felipe NasrSauber1:41.085+2.958s21
1533Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:41.134+3.007s22
1621Esteban GutierrezHaas1:41.238+3.111s18
178Romain GrosjeanHaas1:41.385+3.258s20
1830Jolyon PalmerRenault1:41.671+3.544s25
199Marcus EricssonSauber1:41.962+3.835s22
2094Pascal WehrleinManor1:42.483+4.356s21
2188Rio HaryantoManor1:42.687+4.560s8
2234Alfonso CelisForce India1:43.432+5.305s23