Vettel tops Friday running at Mexico

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Mexico, Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguezmx

Sebastian Vettel may have surprised many by topping the times in the second practice session ahead of the Mexican Grand Prix. Even though he outpaced Lewis Hamilton by just four thousandths of a second, the result must boost the Italians amidst a poor season.

Nico Rosberg was third fastest, 4 tenths down and only a fraction ahead of Kimi Raikkonen, who made it a Ferrari - Mercedes top 4. Daniel Ricciardo was 5th fastest while Nico Hulkenberg was the fastest driver on softs, whereas the cars faster than him had all used the super soft tyres.

The German edged out Verstappen, Bottas and Sainz while Fernando Alonso completed the top 10. The Spaniard saw his running end 15 minutes before the end of the session, for undisclosed reasons.

Daniil Kvyat was 11th fastest. Even though he was a bit slower than his team mate Carlos Sainz, a stoppage on the pit entry due to a "loss of power" at the very end of the session may be the Russian's biggest worry.

Romain Grosjean finally was even worse off, with an electrical problem sidelining him for more than an hour, eventually resulting in the 20th time of the day. That was still faster than his Haas team mate, as Gutierrez ended up slowest, about 2.6s slower than the pace setting Ferrari.


15Sebastian VettelFerrari1:19.790-47
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:19.794+0.004s37
36Nico RosbergMercedes1:20.225+0.435s46
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:20.259+0.469s37
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:20.448+0.658s43
627Nico HulkenbergForce India Mercedes1:20.574+0.784s43
733Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:20.619+0.829s42
877Valtteri BottasWilliams Mercedes1:20.629+0.839s41
955Carlos SainzToro Rosso Ferrari1:20.974+1.184s46
1014Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:21.003+1.213s25
1126Daniil KvyatToro Rosso Ferrari1:21.193+1.403s39
1222Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda1:21.198+1.408s39
1319Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:21.326+1.536s45
1420Kevin MagnussenRenault1:21.442+1.652s39
1511Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:21.579+1.789s41
1630Jolyon PalmerRenault1:21.785+1.995s44
1794Pascal WehrleinMrt Mercedes1:21.980+2.190s42
189Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:21.997+2.207s42
1912Felipe NasrSauber Ferrari1:22.037+2.247s43
208Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:22.105+2.315s14
2131Esteban OconMrt Mercedes1:22.298+2.508s44
2221Esteban GutierrezHaas Ferrari1:22.408+2.618s33