Closely matched Mercedes pair dominates FP2

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Brazil, Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Interlagosbr

Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg were extremely closely matched during the second practice session for the Brazilian Grand Prix as just 30 hundredths of a second separated the Championship contenders. The duo dominated proceedings with the closest competitor ending up nearly half a second behind.

Even though Valtteri Bottas ended up half a second down on pace setter Lewis Hamilton, the Finn and team mate Felipe Massa showed improved pace in their Williams cars compared to the morning session. Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen ended up in 5th and 6th in their Red Bulls, lagging behind the Mercedes after being on-par with them in the morning.

The Ferraris were 7th and 8th fastest, followed by Nico Hulkenberg for Force India and ahead of Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso for McLaren Honda.

10th and 11th in itself wasn't bad for McLaren, but it wasn't particularly good either as Fernando Alonso was asked to stop his car and jump out of it at turn 3, following an ERS problem. Similar to what happened last year, the Spaniard opted to see what was going on from behind the barriers, until he was invited to join a cameraman's lair, where he eventually ended up controlling the camera.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:12.271-41
26Nico RosbergMercedes AMG1:12.301+0.030s40
377Valtteri BottasWilliams Mercedes1:12.761+0.490s47
419Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:12.789+0.518s43
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:12.828+0.557s43
633Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:12.928+0.657s45
75Sebastian VettelFerrari1:13.002+0.731s45
87Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:13.047+0.776s24
927Nico HulkenbergForce India Mercedes1:13.299+1.028s42
1022Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda1:13.440+1.169s19
1114Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:13.572+1.301s18
1226Daniil KvyatToro Rosso Ferrari1:13.689+1.418s46
1355Carlos SainzToro Rosso Ferrari1:13.801+1.530s47
1411Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:13.918+1.647s38
158Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:14.074+1.803s35
1620Kevin MagnussenRenault1:14.109+1.838s47
1712Felipe NasrSauber Ferrari1:14.309+2.038s40
1831Esteban OconMRT Mercedes1:14.317+2.046s46
1930Jolyon PalmerRenault1:14.436+2.165s43
2021Esteban GutierrezHaas Ferrari1:14.558+2.287s42
219Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:14.695+2.424s21
2294Pascal WehrleinMRT Mercedes1:14.958+2.687s22