Hamilton ends Abu Dhabi Friday on top

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina Circuitae

Just like FP1 earlier in the day, the second free practice was closely fought at the front. The order was somewhat mixed however, with Lewis Hamilton this time taking the honors to top the timesheet, ahead of FP1's fastest man, Sebastian Vettel.

Daniel Ricciardo made it once again a top three with three different cars. This time, the Australian was 3 tenths down on the pace setting Mercedes, while in the morning session he struggled and stranded in 10th.

Kimi Raikkonen held on to 4th, followed by Valtteri Bottas and Max Verstappen.

Force India were once again strong, with Sergio Perez closely matched by Esteban Ocon, as the two became the best of the rest in 7th and 8th. Nico Hulkenberg put Renault in the top ten for the first time this weekend while Fernando Alonso completed the top 10.

Felipe Massa dropped out of the top 10 to 11th, followed by Stoffel Vandoorne. The Belgian did have a few off-track moments at turn 20, but didn't seem troubled by the events.

For Romain Grosjean, issues continued as he Frenchman again had a few off-track moments, compounded by electrical problems that left him slowest after just 12 laps.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:37.877-39
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:38.026+0.149s37
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:38.180+0.303s34
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:38.352+0.475s35
577Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:38.537+0.660s33
633Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:38.894+1.017s34
711Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:39.323+1.446s33
831Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:39.333+1.456s36
927Nico HulkenbergRenault1:39.529+1.652s41
1014Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:39.559+1.682s28
1119Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:39.635+1.758s36
122Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:39.671+1.794s31
1355Carlos SainzRenault1:40.201+2.324s38
1418Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:40.329+2.452s30
1510Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:40.694+2.817s39
1620Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:41.128+3.251s31
1794Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:41.270+3.393s43
189Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:41.302+3.425s40
1928Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:41.496+3.619s39
208Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:41.560+3.683s12