FP1: Red Bull off to a strong start

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Monaco, Monte Carlo Circuitmc

Having set their targets on pole position this weekend, Red Bull Racing enjoyed a strong start to the Monaco GP weekend. Daniel Ricciardo set the pace, 0.154s faster than his Dutch team mate, Max Verstappen. Championship leader Lewis Hamilton ended up third fastest, 4 tenths down on the pace setter.

The fastest Ferrari was that of Sebastian Vettel in 4th, narrowly matched by Kimi Raikkonen. The scarlet cars were however nearly a full second down on the Red Bulls.

Carlos Sainz enjoyed a good session in 6th, topping Valtteri Bottas in the second Mercedes. Three more teams were represented in the top 10, with Perez, Grosjean and Sirotkin making sure Force India, Haas and Williams were well positioned.

Grosjean though didn't have the smoothest session, again, as he scrubbed the barriers after pushing a little bit too much. He came away undamaged, which cannot be said of Sirotkin. The Williams driver ended up into the barriers on the main straight, ending up with a flat tyre due to a badly damaged rim. He crawled back to the pitlane to get a set of new tyres.

On the troubled end of the timesheet is Kevin Magnussen. The Dane was sidelined for most of the session as there was a connector issue on his car. Both McLaren drivers on the other hand complained of poor balance, and as such did not end up in their usual positions.


13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:12.12636
233Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:12.280+0.154s25
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:12.480+0.354s34
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:13.041+0.915s40
57Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:13.066+0.940s38
655Carlos SainzRenault1:13.456+1.330s40
777Valtteri BottasMercedes1:13.502+1.376s39
811Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:13.717+1.591s39
98Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:13.943+1.817s24
1035Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:13.962+1.836s40
1131Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:14.000+1.874s39
1228Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:14.034+1.908s46
1327Nico HulkenbergRenault1:14.134+2.008s38
1410Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:14.240+2.114s38
152Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:14.291+2.165s37
1616Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:14.521+2.395s39
1714Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:14.637+2.511s16
1818Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:14.782+2.656s43
199Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:15.206+3.080s39
2020Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:18.801+6.675s7