FP3: Verstappen fastest as competition closes in

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Mexico, Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguezmx

Max Verstappen continued to set the pace in the final practice session ahead of qualifying for the Mexican Grand Prix. The Red Bull driver had also topped both Friday's session, but today saw the competition close in, with Hamilton and Vettel less than 3 tenths behind.

Compared to Friday, conditions were much cooler, with the track damp at the beginning as well. As Mercedes were struggling with overheating engines on Friday, the different situation could explain the team's upturn in form.

Daniel Ricciardo put his Red Bull in fourth, having lapped the least of all top 10 drivers. Raikkonen on the other hand completed the highest number of laps of the top 10 drivers, ending up 5th fastest, marginally ahead of Charles Leclerc.

Sainz, Gasly, Ericsson and Hulkenberg completed the top 10, keeping Renault in the better half of the pack.

There was trouble for Bottas as a hydraulics failure brought him to a smokey halt 15 minutes from the end. Mercedes would later decide to fit another already used engine into his car, voiding any penalties. The virtual safety car that was put in place to remove Bottas' car seemed to be the signal for drivers to go out, given that track conditions had gradually improved throughout the session.

Haas's Kevin Magnussen wasn't to be seen on track again as he was stuck in the garage as his mechanics were busy replacing the intercooler on his car's power unit.


133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:16.284-9
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:16.538+0.254s9
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:16.566+0.282s11
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:17.028+0.744s7
57Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:17.045+0.761s16
616Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:17.059+0.775s13
755Carlos SainzRenault1:17.336+1.052s11
810Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:17.525+1.241s16
99Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:17.565+1.281s14
1027Nico HulkenbergRenault1:17.623+1.339s10
1131Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:17.731+1.447s10
1211Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:17.819+1.535s10
138Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:18.145+1.861s10
142Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:18.445+2.161s15
1514Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:18.548+2.264s11
1628Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:18.637+2.353s10
1735Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:18.669+2.385s9
1818Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:18.698+2.414s8
1977Valtteri BottasMercedes1:18.839+2.555s5
2020Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari--1