FP2: Red Bull stay Friday's fastest

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Mexico, Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguezmx

Red Bull Racing continued to be easily fastest on Friday at Mexico, even though Max Verstappen ended up with reduced running time due to a car issue. Their closest challenger continued to be Carlos Sainz, just like in FP1.

As the general lack of grip continued, not a lot changed compared to the morning session. Renault was still very much in the mix, even though nobody really was a match for the leading Red Bulls as they were again more than a second ahead of the rest.

While Sebastian Vettel was 4th fastest, Brendon Hartley's 6th fastest time added to the surprising order of performance. Hartley, who is very much in need of some strong performances to secure his Toro Rosso seat for 2019 was considerably faster than team mate Gasly, who was using an older specification Honda power unit after his problems earlier in the day.

As is usually the case, teams and driver focus on race simulations in P2, from which it became clear that Red Bull was clearly ahead in regards to tyre management. Especially on the softest hypersoft, it was clear that the tyres held on much better on the Red Bulls than on any other car.


133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:16.720-21
23Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:16.873+0.153s32
355Carlos SainzRenault1:17.953+1.233s35
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:17.954+1.234s42
527Nico HulkenbergRenault1:18.046+1.326s36
628Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:18.061+1.341s35
744Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18.100+1.380s40
87Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:18.133+1.413s42
977Valtteri BottasMercedes1:18.140+1.420s40
1011Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:18.167+1.447s24
1131Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:18.485+1.765s24
128Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:18.733+2.013s39
1316Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:19.024+2.304s39
1410Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:19.047+2.327s36
152Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:19.096+2.376s30
1618Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:19.219+2.499s25
179Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:19.322+2.602s41
1835Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:19.335+2.615s37
1914Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:19.543+2.823s31
2020Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:19.670+2.950s35