FP3: Leclerc brings Ferrari back into the fight

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Monaco, Monte Carlo Circuitmc

A good night of sleep appears to have done Ferrari well, as Charles Leclerc has firmly brought Ferrari back into the mix, reverting the dominant display that Mercedes were able to show on Friday.

The Silver Arrows were still very much on the pace with second and third best times, followed by the duo of Red Bull Racing.

Sebastian Vettel only managed to set the 14th fastest time, as after just 7 laps into the session, he ended up in the barriers at Ste Devote, effectively ending his session early with some front wing damage. Nothing appeared too worrying for qualifying for him, apart perhaps the doubts that might creep into the German's head.

Apart from the three big teams, Toro Rosso positioned both cars also in the top ten. The were joined by Giovinazzi for Alfa Romeo and Magnussen for Haas.

Both Renault's were just out of the top 10 and has similarly found back some pace they were clearly lacking on Friday. This perhaps at the expense of McLaren which saw both their cars all too close to the rear end of the field.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:11.265-26
277Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:11.318+0.053s27
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:11.478+0.213s27
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:11.539+0.274s24
510Pierre GaslyRed Bull Racing Honda1:11.738+0.473s27
699Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:12.170+0.905s23
726Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:12.194+0.929s27
820Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:12.270+1.005s25
97Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:12.308+1.043s27
1023Alexander AlbonScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:12.338+1.073s32
1127Nico HulkenbergRenault1:12.489+1.224s26
123Daniel RicciardoRenault1:12.519+1.254s26
138Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:12.566+1.301s27
145Sebastian VettelFerrari1:12.583+1.318s7
1555Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:12.862+1.597s29
164Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:12.914+1.649s26
1711Sergio PerezRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:13.232+1.967s23
1818Lance StrollRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:13.622+2.357s21
1988Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:14.086+2.821s27
2063George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:14.305+3.040s27