FP2: Leclerc narrowly ahead of Hamilton

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Italy, Autodromo Nazionale di Monzait

Charles Leclerc continued to top the timing sheet in Friday's afternoon session at Monza, this time less than a tenth quicker than Lewis Hamilton, who managed to prevent another Ferrari 1-2.

Many drivers were very active early on in the session, wary that rain was forecast. In that flur of activity, both Ferraris set their fastest times of the session, as they switched to softs 20 minutes in after a number of laps on the harder tyres.

When rain eventually arrived, the track became quiet for around 30 minutes. After that period, several cautiously ventured out again, and towards the end of the session, it seems like the track was back in the condition at had been at the beginning of the session.

It was then that Hamilton set his best, making good use of a tow by team mate Valtteri Bottas. Such a tow can be extremely helpful around Monza, and is typically used for qualifying to eek out every bit of performance there is in the cars.

Bottas himself ended the session fourth fastest, ahead of both Red Bulls and Pierre Gasly. The Frenchman was 0.5s down on Albon, and narrowly trailed by Grosjean and Ricciardo as they completed the top 10.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:20.978-37
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:21.046+0.068s32
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:21.179+0.201s39
477Valtteri BottasMercedes1:21.347+0.369s34
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:21.350+0.372s29
623Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:21.589+0.611s30
710Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:22.124+1.146s42
88Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:22.153+1.175s44
93Daniel RicciardoRenault1:22.249+1.271s36
1026Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:22.260+1.282s37
1127Nico HulkenbergRenault1:22.338+1.360s37
1255Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:22.482+1.504s32
1320Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:22.511+1.533s42
147Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:22.523+1.545s35
1518Lance StrollRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:22.706+1.728s32
1611Sergio PerezRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:22.882+1.904s33
1799Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:23.065+2.087s35
184Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:23.561+2.583s16
1988Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:23.737+2.759s29
2063George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:24.313+3.335s23