FP1: Leclerc tops rain-hit first session at Monza

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Italy, Autodromo Nazionale di Monzait

A late lap on medium tyres in the closing stages of the session saw Charles Leclerc go fastest on a drying Monza circuit. McLaren drivers Sainz and Norris in a session that was interrupted by three red flags.

The session started very wet, with full wet tyres the only viable option to do some running. However, as the rain faded, teams have plenty of time to try the intermediates, on which Valtteri Bottas proved fastest, before drivers switched to the dry weather slicks.

Bottas still ended ninth with that effort while team mate Lewis Hamilton ended up fourth. His best effort was on slicks, but an better lap was on the table until the Briton spun his Mercedes.

By that time, Kimi Raikkonen was already out of action as he had beached his Alfa Romeo at Parabolica. Having come a bit too hard on the throttle, the rear of his car went another way and brought him to a standstill in the gravel.

A second red flag came due to Sergio Perez. The Mexican spun on the exit of Ascari, and in the event damaged the front and rear of his car. Though it appears limited to wing damage, he noted the gearbox may also have been damaged.

The third and final red flag was due to Pierre Gasly's spin at the same corner a bit later. The Frenchman only just avoided a collision with Red Bull's Albon.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:27.905-20
255Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:28.211+0.306s25
34Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:28.450+0.545s23
444Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:28.730+0.825s11
523Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:29.025+1.120s19
626Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:29.960+2.055s25
733Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:30.100+2.195s11
85Sebastian VettelFerrari1:30.507+2.602s19
977Valtteri BottasMercedes1:30.596+2.691s11
1010Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:30.695+2.790s26
1199Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:32.848+4.943s22
1218Lance StrollRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:33.976+6.071s9
133Daniel RicciardoRenault1:34.528+6.623s10
1420Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:34.715+6.810s7
1527Nico HulkenbergRenault1:35.133+7.228s10
168Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:35.980+8.075s7
1788Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:37.816+9.911s12
1863George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:38.421+10.516s12
1911Sergio PerezRacing Point Bwt Mercedes--4
207Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari--4