FP1: Sainz fastest as F1 returns to Melbourne

By on

Just like in the first two races of the season, Ferrari kicked off the Australian Grand Prix weekend strongly by topping the first practice times with both cars. Carlos Sainz proved fastest as Perez was the closest challenger to the Scarlet cars.

As drivers discored the modified track at Albert Park, the two top teams from the season start were immediately on the pace. Behind them, Lando Norris had a great session for McLaren, ending up 5th while home hero Daniel Ricciardo ended up 8th.

Alpine also had a solid outing to start off the weekend. Ocon eased to 6th as Alonso was 9th, seemingly without too much effort.

The only drivers not to have their team mates in the top 10 this morning were Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas.

The teams that had more trouble this session were notably Haas and Aston Martin. Haas looked off with Magnussen and Schumacher down in 18th and 20th. Magnussen had been nauseous overnight but was fit enough to drive while for Schumacher there seemed to be no excuse, other than the car not working as it did in Bahrain and Saubi Arabia.

The returning Sebastian Vettel had a nightmare first session after missing the first races due to a COVID-19 infection. On his 18th lap, the Mercedes engine in his car gave up, leaving him stranded before stepping out to display his fire fighting skills. The failure would prove to be so catastrophic that the German also missed out the entire FP2.


155Carlos SainzFerrari1:19.80624
216Charles LeclercFerrari1:20.377+0.571s21
311Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Rbpt1:20.399+0.593s20
41Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Rbpt1:20.626+0.820s22
54Lando NorrisMclaren Mercedes1:20.878+1.072s22
631Esteban OconAlpine Renault1:21.004+1.198s27
744Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:21.027+1.221s26
83Daniel RicciardoMclaren Mercedes1:21.155+1.349s23
914Fernando AlonsoAlpine Renault1:21.229+1.423s21
1077Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:21.247+1.441s23
1122Yuki TsunodaAlphatauri Rbpt1:21.289+1.483s26
1263George RussellMercedes1:21.457+1.651s26
135Sebastian VettelAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:21.661+1.855s18
1410Pierre GaslyAlphatauri Rbpt1:21.701+1.895s26
1524Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:21.821+2.015s21
1618Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:21.869+2.063s24
1723Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes1:22.754+2.948s25
1820Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:23.186+3.380s18
196Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes1:23.924+4.118s25
2047Mick SchumacherHaas Ferrari1:24.349+4.543s15