FP2: Leclerc takes over from Sainz in second practice

By on

The second free practice session at Melbourne again saw a Ferrari top the times. This time though it was Bahrain race winner Charles Leclerc topping the reigning World Champion and Ferrari team mate Carlos Sainz.

Fernando Alonso ended up a strong fourth and confirmed Alpine really are on the right path. Sergio Perez backed the Spaniard up with a 5th time to put both Red Bulls in the top 5, just ahead of Esteban Ocon in the second Renault-powered Alpine.

Valtteri Bottas had another solid session as well even though he paid a visit to the gravel trap to do a bit of rallying at one point in the session. His Alfa Romeo didn't incur any damage however so it was just a minor event.

Eight was Lando Norris as McLaren seem to come alive and clearly a lot better than in the first two races. Pierre Gasly and Daniel Ricciardo rounded up the top 10.

That meant neither Mercedes made it in there, with Russell 11th and Hamilton stuck in 13th. Both drivers reported after the session it appeared like no setup change appeared to impact the car's performance at all, making it very difficult to drive. Hamilton too therefore ran through the same gravel trap as Bottas did earlier.

As Haas were still fighting it out at the back with Williams, Vettel was worse off as he didn't even get out on track with the team unable to get his car ready following the power unit failure in FP1.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:18.97827
21Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Rbpt1:19.223+0.245s22
355Carlos SainzFerrari1:19.376+0.398s27
414Fernando AlonsoAlpine Renault1:19.537+0.559s22
511Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Rbpt1:19.658+0.680s20
631Esteban OconAlpine Renault1:19.842+0.864s25
777Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:20.055+1.077s25
84Lando NorrisMclaren Mercedes1:20.100+1.122s24
910Pierre GaslyAlphatauri Rbpt1:20.142+1.164s27
103Daniel RicciardoMclaren Mercedes1:20.203+1.225s24
1163George RussellMercedes1:20.212+1.234s25
1222Yuki TsunodaAlphatauri Rbpt1:20.424+1.446s30
1344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:20.521+1.543s23
1418Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:20.611+1.633s28
1524Zhou GuanyuAlfa Romeo Ferrari1:21.063+2.085s23
1620Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:21.191+2.213s23
1723Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes1:21.912+2.934s28
1847Mick SchumacherHaas Ferrari1:21.974+2.996s22
196Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes1:22.307+3.329s24