FP1: Norris pips Verstappen to head opening practice in Barcelona

By on

McLaren driver Lando Norris set the benchmark time with a 1m14.228s to fractionally beat championship runaway leader Max Verstappen in the first practice session of the Spanish Grand Prix.

Although Lando Norris looked to slightly lack pace in the opening stages of the first one-hour practice session, he ended up fastest with a late push lap on Pirelli's soft tyres.

Reigning world champion Max Verstappen was quickest after the first runs that saw drivers use Pirelli's hard compound, but finished the session in P2, using the red-walled tyres for his quickest lap.

Home hero Carlos Sainz looked comfortable in his car on both compounds, and he ended up third, setting his best lap of 1m14.572s on the yellow-banded mediums. His team-mate Charles Leclerc struggled all through the session, calling the behaviour of this car "horrendous". The Monegasque took only 11th on Pirelli's medium tyres.

Between the two Ferraris were the two Mercedes drivers George Russell and Lewis Hamilton, Sergio Perez and Oscar Piastri.

The current field's second Spanish driver Fernando Alonso racked up a total of 25 laps on home turf, setting the 9th quickest lap. His team-mate Lance Stroll was three tenths of a second slower which saw the Canadian take 14th.

Nico Hulkenberg missed the opening session as he handed over his car to Ferrari and Haas reserve driver Oliver Bearman. The young Briton took 19th in his second FP1 outing of 2024, ending the session only two tenths of a second behind regular driver Kevin Magnussen.


14Lando NorrisMclaren Mercedes1:14.22826
21Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda Rbpt1:14.252+0.024s26
355Carlos SainzFerrari1:14.572+0.344s30
463George RussellMercedes1:14.614+0.386s30
511Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda Rbpt1:14.692+0.464s27
681Oscar PiastriMclaren Mercedes1:14.867+0.639s28
744Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:14.911+0.683s27
831Esteban OconAlpine Renault1:15.086+0.858s29
914Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:15.222+0.994s25
1023Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes1:15.417+1.189s24
1116Charles LeclercFerrari1:15.434+1.206s25
1277Valtteri BottasKick Sauber Ferrari1:15.472+1.244s23
1310Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault1:15.484+1.256s20
1418Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:15.512+1.284s27
153Daniel RicciardoRb Honda Rbpt1:15.580+1.352s29
1624Zhou GuanyuKick Sauber Ferrari1:15.616+1.388s23
1720Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:15.644+1.416s29
182Logan SargeantWilliams Mercedes1:15.752+1.524s24
1950Oliver BearmanHaas Ferrari1:15.865+1.637s28
2022Yuki TsunodaRb Honda Rbpt1:15.916+1.688s20