FP2: Hamilton pips Sainz to top second practice in Barcelona

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Spain, Circuit de Catalunyaes

Seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton set the benchmark in the second practice session for the Spanish Grand Prix, fractionally beating home hero Carlos Sainz.

Mercedes continued to impress in the second one-hour practice at the Spanish Grand Prix with Lewis Hamilton setting the benchmark with a time of 1m13.264s.

His team-mate George Russell also looked competitive, but he was fractionally off the pace in the middle sector on his qualifying simulation lap which saw him end up only eighth quickest, four tenths of a second off Hamilton's benchmark.

Although Ferrari looked slightly off the pace dictated by Red Bull, McLaren and Mercedes in Free Practice 1, Carlos Sainz bounced back in second practice to take second, only 22 thousands of a second off the quickest lap.

His team-mate Charles Leclerc called the behaviour of his SF-24 "horrendous" in the opening session, but he looked more comfortable in his car and ended up sixth quickest.

McLaren's Lando Norris was less than a tenth off, and set the third quickest lap. His team-mate Oscar Piastri was slightly off the pace all day long and set the 7th quickest lap for McLaren.

Pierre Gasly delivered a sensational fourth-quickest lap in second practice with his time only under two tenths of a second adrift of Hamilton's benchmark. His team-mate Esteban Ocon took an impressive 9th spot, suggesting that Alpine has managed to find a better balance with its latest upgrades.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:13.26428
255Carlos SainzFerrari1:13.286+0.022s30
34Lando NorrisMclaren Mercedes1:13.319+0.055s31
410Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault1:13.443+0.179s27
51Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda Rbpt1:13.504+0.240s29
616Charles LeclercFerrari1:13.597+0.333s22
781Oscar PiastriMclaren Mercedes1:13.622+0.358s28
863George RussellMercedes1:13.722+0.458s28
931Esteban OconAlpine Renault1:13.766+0.502s30
1077Valtteri BottasKick Sauber Ferrari1:13.924+0.660s30
1120Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:14.021+0.757s32
1227Nico HulkenbergHaas Ferrari1:14.053+0.789s29
1311Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda Rbpt1:14.081+0.817s23
1414Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:14.091+0.827s28
1522Yuki TsunodaRb Honda Rbpt1:14.211+0.947s31
163Daniel RicciardoRb Honda Rbpt1:14.257+0.993s29
1724Zhou GuanyuKick Sauber Ferrari1:14.345+1.081s21
1818Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:14.402+1.138s28
1923Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes1:14.807+1.543s34
202Logan SargeantWilliams Mercedes1:15.070+1.806s33