Grosjean tops first session at Abu Dhabi

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina Circuitae

Romain Grosjean has topped the first session at Abu Dhabi. He went faster than Lewis Hamilton who appeared well on the pace early on, followed by World Champion Sebastian Vettel.

The early parts of the session were mainly run by Caterham and Marussia while Red Bull team principal Christian Horner said his cars were just waiting until the others cleaned up the track a bit. Most drivers who came out for a few reconnaisance laps however soon complained of a terrible lack of grip.

Essentially, most teams remained in the box throughout the first half of the session as this session is virtually irrelevant for further running, as qualifying and the race will be held later in the afternoon, featuring lower track temperatures. One team principal also mentioned that towards the end of the season, teams are a bit more careful with engines as they approach their end of life while the number of available tyres are of course also limited.

Halfway into the session, Vettel took the fastest time while Grosjean was already very busy lapping the circuit. It was also the Frenchman who in the end would pull the longest straw, going fastest in this session. Lewis Hamilton was his closest challenger as the latter seemed very much on the pace early on in this weekend.


18Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:44.241-21
210Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:44.4330.19223
31Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:44.4990.25818
42Mark WebberRed Bull Racing-Renault1:44.7120.47120
59Nico RosbergMercedes1:44.7410.50024
67Kimi RäikkönenLotus-Renault1:44.9290.68823
714Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes1:45.0400.79920
85Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:45.0990.85820
916Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault1:45.1500.90924
106Sergio PerezMcLaren-Mercedes1:45.3311.09020
1111Nico HulkenbergSauber-Ferrari1:45.3781.13723
123Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:45.4401.19918
1317Valtteri BottasWilliams-Renault1:45.8231.58222
1415James CaladoForce India-Mercedes1:45.9241.68320
1512Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:46.0681.82718
1618Jean-Eric VergneStr-Ferrari1:46.1141.87322
174Felipe MassaFerrari1:46.1241.88318
1819Daniel RicciardoStr-Ferrari1:46.1261.88521
1920Charles PicCaterham-Renault1:47.6003.35922
2021Heikki KovalainenCaterham-Renault1:47.6703.42922
2122Jules BianchiMarussia-Cosworth1:47.7233.48223
2223Rodolfo GonzalezMarussia-Cosworth1:49.5655.32422