Hamilton fastest as Silverstone running commences

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Great Britain, Silverstone Circuitgb

Lewis Hamilton was fastest in front of his home crowd as running started for this weekend's British Grand Prix. Around Silverstone circuit, the Brit proved less than a tenth faster than his Mercedes AMG F1 team mate, Nico Rosberg.

Both men were comfortably ahead of the rest of the pack, even with both setting their best times on the medium compound. They had already proven to be fastest on the hardest tyres earlier on in the session as well.

Nico Hulkenberg on the other hand needed soft tyres to get into third on the timing sheet, narrowly faster than Vettel who similarly used the soft tyres. Raikkonen did as well, and ended up 6th, in between both Red Bull drivers who will be happy to have the early advantage on Ferrari, given they did not have to resort to the softest compound available to get into the top 10 of this first 90-minute session.

They left Sergio Perez behind them, followed by Carlos Sainz in the Toro Rosso. Fernando Alonso put McLAren in the top 10, boosted by some aerodynamic and engine upgrades.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:31.654-30
26Nico RosbergMercedes AMG1:31.687+0.033s34
327Nico HulkenbergForce India Mercedes1:32.492+0.838s30
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:32.501+0.847s20
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:32.773+1.119s30
67Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:33.039+1.385s28
733Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:33.202+1.548s22
811Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:33.235+1.581s30
955Carlos SainzToro Rosso Ferrari1:33.446+1.792s19
1014Fernando AlonsoMclaren Honda1:33.527+1.873s22
1126Daniil KvyatToro Rosso Ferrari1:33.738+2.084s20
1222Jenson ButtonMclaren Honda1:34.132+2.478s24
1377Valtteri BottasWilliams Mercedes1:34.263+2.609s38
1419Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:34.456+2.802s34
158Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:34.547+2.893s24
1630Jolyon PalmerRenault1:34.787+3.133s29
1712Felipe NasrSauber Ferrari1:34.805+3.151s21
1850Charles LeclercHaas Ferrari1:35.869+4.215s26
1945Esteban OconRenault1:35.980+4.326s31
209Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:36.003+4.349s19
2194Pascal WehrleinMrt Mercedes1:36.136+4.482s25
2288Rio HaryantoMrt Mercedes1:36.647+4.993s29