Dry conditions see Ferrari go fastest in FP2

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Malaysia, Sepang International Circuitmy

A completely dry second free practice session saw Ferrari go fastest with both its cars on top of the timesheet. While Vettel was fastest, the Red Bull drivers that dominated FP1 were up next, third and fourth fastest.

Fernando Alonso continued to surprise, now going 5th fastest on a dry track, following his third fastest time in the wet earlier today.

Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas were only 6th and 7th, seemingly confirming that the Mercedes cars are struggling indeed, at a track where they were expected to be comfortably fastest.

The Force India cars, split by Nico Hulkenberg completed the top 10.

10 minutes from the scheduled end, the session was red flagged and eventually ended when Romain Grosjean veered off the track into the tyre wall. A loose drain cover has punctured his right rear Pirelli tyre and immediately rendered Frenchman a passenger in his Haas car. Grosjean was fine, and the car seemingly not too badly damaged either, but it surely gives the marshalls something to check ahead of tomorrow's running at Sepang.


15Sebastian VettelFerrari1:31.261-23
27Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:31.865+0.604s19
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:32.099+0.838s19
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:32.109+0.848s11
514Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:32.564+1.303s14
644Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:32.677+1.416s15
777Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:32.720+1.459s21
811Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:32.862+1.601s20
927Nico HulkenbergRenault1:33.060+1.799s24
1031Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:33.096+1.835s24
1130Jolyon PalmerRenault1:33.381+2.120s26
1219Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:33.394+2.133s20
132Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:33.673+2.412s15
1418Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:33.818+2.557s16
1510Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:34.043+2.782s22
1655Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:34.104+2.843s19
178Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:34.118+2.857s18
1820Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:34.343+3.082s17
1994Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:35.246+3.985s29
209Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:35.697+4.436s27