FP1: Red Bull ahead as Mexico running kicks off

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Mexico, Autódromo Hermanos Rodriguezmx

Red Bull Racing were adamant they would be in the mix this weekend at Mexico, and the first practice session seemed to prove so, with Verstappen and Ricciardo comfortably heading the field in their Renault powered Red Bulls.

The team knows this circuit is likely the last of the season where they will be well into the fight for the win, thanks to the high altitude that rewards their high rake car while having a smaller penalty due to the power difference versus Ferrari and Mercedes.

With two cars ahead, the surprise was even larger when the French firm saw its cars line up in third and fourth on the timing sheet. Though the team are targeting a solid result this weekend, they were likely not expecting to be the second fastest team as the weekend started.

Both Mercedes, headed by Lewis Hamilton lined up in 5th and 6th, ahead of the Ferrari duo. Brendon Hartley and Forco India reserve Nicholas Latifi completed the top 10.

While the session was dominated by drivers complained about a lack of grip, Pierre Gasly had other things to worry about. On only his second lap out on track, problems made him return to the pits, where the team decided to switch back to an older specification Honda power unit, making Gasly face a grid penalty for Sunday's race.


133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:16.656-19
23Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:17.139+0.483s19
355Carlos SainzRenault1:17.926+1.270s20
427Nico HulkenbergRenault1:18.028+1.372s21
544Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18.075+1.419s23
677Valtteri BottasMercedes1:18.322+1.666s27
75Sebastian VettelFerrari1:18.746+2.090s17
87Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:18.936+2.280s22
928Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:19.024+2.368s29
1034Nicholas LatifiForce India Mercedes1:19.078+2.422s23
1111Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:19.124+2.468s29
1236Antonio GiovinazziSauber Ferrari1:19.134+2.478s25
138Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:19.276+2.620s26
149Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:19.312+2.656s28
1547Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:19.646+2.990s23
162Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:19.716+3.060s29
1720Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:19.853+3.197s28
1835Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:19.899+3.243s30
1918Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:20.142+3.486s26
2010Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda--2