FP1: Verstappen on top ahead of nightfall

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Singapore, Marina Bay Street Circuitsg

Red Bull's Max Verstappen was the fastest man as running began in the Singapore Grand Prix weekend. He narrowly led Sebastian Vettel in a session that is typically not very relevant, due to being held earlier than qualifying and the race.

Free practice 1 at Singapore is a session held with the sun still setting, meaning track temperature is higher that what is seen later in the evening, when the circuit's lights need to take over. Still, with Singapore being a lengthy street circuit, drivers need all the time to get to know the track (again).

Verstappen and Vettel were just a few tenths apart, with both setting their best laps on the soft tyres. Hamilton had a reverse tyre strategy and begin on softs, before switching to hard tyres. The reigning champion ended at 0.666s of the pace setter.

Still, that wasn't that bad, as Charles Leclerc was worse off with reliability problems hitting again on his Ferrari. An apparent hydraulic issue meant he had to stop at the end of the pitlane. He was wheeled back into the garage and wasn't seen out on track again in the remaining 30 minutes.

Valtteri Bottas also had an early end of the session, though he got himself involved in a crash at Turn 19, only a few minutes after Lerclec stepped out of his Ferrari.

Bottas still ended up 4th, ahead of Alexander Albon in the second Red Bull.

Nico Hulkenberg represented Renault in the top 10, followed by McLaren duo Sainz and Norris. Kvyat and Gasly on their behalf put both Toro Rossos firmly in the better half of the pack as well.


133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:40.259-22
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:40.426+0.167s23
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:40.925+0.666s26
477Valtteri BottasMercedes1:41.336+1.077s14
523Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:41.467+1.208s24
627Nico HulkenbergRenault1:41.812+1.553s26
755Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:41.966+1.707s20
84Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:42.180+1.921s19
926Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:42.305+2.046s26
1010Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:42.377+2.118s24
113Daniel RicciardoRenault1:42.527+2.268s20
128Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:42.630+2.371s23
1399Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:42.677+2.418s15
147Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:42.786+2.527s13
1518Lance StrollRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:42.791+2.532s28
1620Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:43.150+2.891s22
1788Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:43.336+3.077s28
1811Sergio PerezRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:43.369+3.110s23
1916Charles LeclercFerrari1:43.618+3.359s12
2063George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:43.993+3.734s29